Join now Member login

Menu

About us

The togetherfriends team

togetherfriends is run by mother and daughter team, Helen and Bethan King. 

Between them they bring a wealth of different experiences, passions and interests.  Helen understands the need for strong, positive connections for older women, and Bethan understands the younger perspective.

 Meet the team:

Helen

 Hi, I'm Helen. I am originally from Wales, although have spent most of my adult life in Yorkshire, having married an englishman!  Until recent years we shared our home with our three children, who are now themselves adults who have flown the nest.

I set up togetherfriends  when in my 50s - a totally new experience for me, as in my 'past life' I worked in social housing and community work.  It's been a steep learning curve but so worth it, and I am delighted that Bethan is now joining me. 

In my personal life, I love to hike on the Yorkshire moors, getting out whenever I can.  I also sing in a local choir and like to read, cook and garden. I love to travel, and spend much of my time planning my dream adventure!   And of course I like to spend time with my family and friends - in 'normal' times meeting a friend for a cinema trip, a meal out, a visit to a gallery or museum and generally enjoying special times. 

togetherfriends fits into my ethos - to be positive in outlook and live life to the full - something that I am even more determined to do as I get older. 

I hope that you will be able to join Bethan and I on the togetherfriends journey, and make some new friends along the way!

 

bethan 2

Hello! I’m Bethan, one of the daughters who has flown the nest, and the newest member of the togetherfriends team.

So, a few things about me: - I graduated from Bath Spa University in 2015 with a degree in Acting, and I am hoping to retrain as a social worker in the near future.

I love the outdoors. The wilder and muddier the better, and I can often be found, slightly windswept, somewhere atop the Yorkshire moors with my slightly mad, but very cute, Romanian rescue dog, Pip. 

I am a sucker for anything colourful – both my home and wardrobe are full of bright colours and patterns, and I wouldn’t have them any other way!

I love to travel and to challenge myself to do and try new things. I have most recently taken up wild swimming, something I have meant to do for a long time but never had the courage or anyone to do it with. I now just can’t believe I waited so long! 

In 2016 I bought my first set of watercolour paints, inspired by the wonderful street artists whilst on holiday in Florence. Since then,  I have painted virtually every day,  making many new friends along the way.

The relationships I have with my friends, family and partner keep me going, and I truly wouldn’t be the woman I am today without their support and guidance.

I feel so proud to be part of this fantastic community of women, and I wish you well on your togetherfriends journey.